Daily Archives: July 2, 2008

Coffee tastes different in Styrofoam.

Don’t plan it – just run with it. That’s the only thing that popped into my head when I decided (yet again) that I’d be writing a not-for-money blog (yeah, the boring kind, but at least there won’t be ads everywhere until I lose my job because I drink so much coffee it actually hurts the company’s bottom line / CEO’s bonus.

Don’t plan it – just run with it. This line…this line is any / every writer’s key to freedom. No longer are you ‘locked’ into a topic you told yourself you’d keep abreast of. Maybe, with your newfound freedom, you can finally talk about the eerie similarities between Alf and some UFC fighters while also pointing out the brilliance behind the Smurfs reference in Donnie Darko.

By the same token, it doesn’t mean you can just cram random stuff together with the hopes of being funny; that’ll never be the case. If you’ve got an itch to write about how angry you get when people brake uphill, then by all means, go for it. For instance, I’m reading what I’ve written and I’ve begun to wonder two things:

– Why do I always print, yet I’m writing this post out in a combination of really-hard-to-read cursive and some sort of archaic shorthand?

– What the hell happened to my handwriti-…

…and then, as usually happens, I’ll remember that the whole reason I started printing everything I’ve written for the better part of ten years is because my cursive is so difficult to decipher when I’m writing down a whole lot at once, which is the case when I’m brainstorming / taking notes / conducting an interview. On a side note, It’s a hidden blessing in a way, being that I’m currently at work, so when i leave my desk for a coffee and people try to read what I’m writing, they’re most likely thinking “wow, he must be busy; look at how quickly he was writing and how-…wait, what does that say? ‘Mein Kampf?’ ‘Dat playa?’ Is this young man contemplating a hip-hop opera revolving around the life of Hitler? SECURITY!”

Leave a comment

Filed under funny, humor, random, work